blizzard

Mar. 16th, 2026 11:28 pm
low_delta: (Default)
We got an inch and a half of rain yesterday, and the snow started in late evening. It continued through lunchtime today. I have no idea how much we got because the wind was so strong it was just drifting everywhere. We got out to shovel after supper, and did most of it. I finished around 10pm. Fortunately it was fairly light. Due to the rain, there was ice underneath, but also fortunately, because it was slushy before it froze, it was textured and not very slippery.

It's supposed to get below 10°F overnight. Then Wednesday it will be above freezing, and getting warmer every day after, so I don't expect it to last long.

Cindy and I were both supposed to go into our offices today, but there was no way I was going to spend 45 minutes shoveling, and then an extra long commute, and get there late and find nobody else in the office. My coworker felt the same way. He said it took his wife an hour to get to work, twice as long as usual.

wind

Mar. 14th, 2026 10:32 pm
low_delta: (Default)
Friday we had wind. The wind speed was 30 to 40 mph for much of the day. The weather station across the street says the wind speed hit 50 once, and gusted to more than 60 a couple of times - 68 mph it says. I don't remember it ever being like this. There are trees down here and there.

weather-260313-windspeed.jpg

We were working from home, and my connection was slow all day. We went out for dinner, and when we got home the internet was out. There were reports of power outages, and there were more of them today, for some reason. This morning was perfectly calm.

Everyone has been watching the forecast all week because it was calling for over a foot of snow this weekend. We were on the 8 inch line, with up to two feet in northern Wisconsin. But now the forecast for our neighborhood says we'll get a couple inches of snow overnight, then a couple inches of rain tomorrow, and over an inch of snow on Monday. And it will be windy.

It's a little annoying to have to go back to winter after some springlike weather last weekend, but I didn't really get a chance to be out in it, so it still doesn't really feel like Spring was happening.

so cold

Jan. 19th, 2026 09:10 pm
low_delta: (Default)
It was zero degrees this morning, with wind. Feels-like temp was around -20°F. The drive in to the office didn't bother me because it was warm enough in the car. The car started at garage temperature, rather than outdoor temperature.

The office was cold. I was so cold I was tempted to leave early. It was up to five degrees when I left, and the short walk to the car chilled me, and it took forever for the car to warm up, so I stayed cold on the ride home.

I've been home for over three hours, and I haven't warmed up yet. I should find that electric blanket.

There was supposed to be northern lights tonight. I was tempted to go out to see them. At least I'd be cold for a reason.
low_delta: (Default)
We had Thanksgiving at my nephew's newish apartment. Nice place in a really old building above a restaurant. A friend of my sister is giving him a good deal on it. He made one dish, and my sister and mom made the rest, like they always do.

Saturday we were supposed to go to a surprise birthday party, but it was kind of a long way away, and there was supposed to be a snowstorm. We were to get more than eight inches of snow. Early in the day there were reports of accidents, so we decided to stay home. It turns out the total snow forecast was for a full 24 hours of snow, and by the time we would have been coming home, there would have been less than three inches on the ground. But even by the time I went to bed after midnight, there were probably only four inches. So I was surprised to see around ten inches in the morning. It was heavy snow and all the trees and plants were weighed down. A tree had knocked out our power sometime overnight. Fortunately I wasn't relying on an alarm to wake up me.

So I had to shovel the driveway. It took me five session at 20 to 30 minutes each. I had forgotten that I never got a good shovel after last winter, but I used the snow scoop for most of it. They widened our road this summer, which shortened our driveway. I'm not happy to have the road closer to the house, but at least that's eight less feet of driveway to clear. The unfortunate part is that the last section is now steeper. I had to back up the hill pulling the heavy snow scoop, trying to keep my feet. Not sure what I'm going to do about that. I might have to figure out how to get a snowblower in the garage.

I did wear my new winter coat, and it is very warm. I had to unzip it some of the times that I was shoveling, since I was starting to sweat.

There was no wind, so the snow fell straight down and piled up on everything. Notice the mourning doves are about eight inches above the actual back of the bench.

birdbench

winter tree
low_delta: (Default)
The weather has been fine lately. It was cool for a bit, and the forecasts of warmer weather kept turning out to be wrong, but it finally warmed up, and we had a couple of days in the mid 70's. It was warmer inland, of course, where it was in the low eighties. I wish I'd been home on the warmest day, to get the house warmed up, but I had other plans since the weather was good.

It was supposed to cool down again, but it's 70 now, so that forecast has also been delayed. Let's see what I can get done outdoors today.

more rain

Aug. 12th, 2025 11:23 pm
low_delta: (Default)
That record rain I've been mentioning, our average rainfall for the summer is 14 inches. Some areas got that much in a day. Fortunately, we didn't get any rain after Sunday morning, until this morning, when we got half an inch in fifteen minutes. 0.8" total. Some areas got more rain Sunday night, and other areas got more rain tonight.

I know people whose basements were flooded (deep). I was talking with a photographer acquaintance tonight who said a friend of his had their basement flooded, and lost 60 years of photography.

much rain

Aug. 10th, 2025 09:00 am
low_delta: (Default)
We got somewhere around eight inches of rain since yesterday afternoon. Flash flood warnings. Standing water everywhere. Roads closed, and at least one washed out. There's a river, in a narrow channel, that was up 14 feet. Many basements and underground parking areas were flooded in Milwaukee.

I don't think I checked the forecast yesterday or Friday, but there was no rain in it the last time I looked. I wonder when they figured it out.

We discovered a leak in the roof. Water was coming down along the exhaust vent in the bathroom. Not much, fortunately. I'll need to wait until everything dries out, then go up on the roof and find where to caulk it.
low_delta: (Default)
We've gone all the way to the middle of February before getting any appreciable snow. They said we had 3" in January, but I'm not sure. I think it snowed three times, and we might have gotten an inch each time.

We got about four inches yesterday, maybe less. It was the light fluffy stuff floating down all day. The wind finally picked up a little bit around the time I went out to shovel, around 10 pm. It was very light, but since I lost my good shovel, I'm unhappy about shoveling it.

I got most of it done last night, but left the front walk and the turnaround, and some of the end. I planned on finishing it tonight, but it's 10°F right now. Tomorrow it's supposed to be near 30, so I'll do it then.

I was a little surprised about how accurate the forecast was. They didn't even change it in the couple of days before the snowfall. Tonight it will hit zero, and tomorrow will be in the 20's in the afternoon. Saturday will get up to freezing, and we'll get a couple more inches.
low_delta: (Default)
It was near 80° for a couple of days at Halloween. The week after that the temps were jumping between the 60s and the 40s. Last week was in the 40s. This week was a little warmer with a lot of rain, and then it turned cold, windy and snowy. Slick roads and a lot of accidents today. My dad said he got 6.5 inches of snow, but I'm not sure if we got three here. And it was melted by the the afternoon.

We're not supposed to be below freezing until Monday, but then it might not get above freezing for a while. The forecast for the winter says we'll be cold with less snow than usual. That's the worst-case scenario, for me. But we'll see what happens.
low_delta: (Default)
It got up to 75°F today. Everyone is like, "isn't this great?!" I'm like, "this is fucked up!"

OMG snow

Jan. 13th, 2024 05:54 pm
low_delta: (Default)
This was a rough one. It snowed all day yesterday but the accumulation on the driveway wasn't bad, probably due to the wind blowing it away. I should have cleared what was there last night, but I figured I would just deal with in the morning, because it would continue snowing.

Today there was quite a but more, due to the wind. But the main problem was that the bottom inch was slush. But the air temp was in the low 20's, so my shovel was frozen, and the slush would stick to it. I very often had to take extra measures to get the snow off of it. And as soon as I exposed the melty stuff on the pavement, it would start turning to ice. I had to extra careful to clear the pavement as I went.

I started out with a regular shovel, but the snow was so deep near the garage that I couldn't continue, not with the heavy slushy lower part. I ended up using the snow scoop for the whole thing. It was hard on my shoulders, both with pushing it to a place where I could empty it, and yanking on it to empty it.

It took me five, roughly half-hour session to clear the entire driveway. I still have to do the front walk and steps. The temps are already down to the mid teens, and the decline will not stop until we reach zero tomorrow morning. This means I need to clear it now while it's not painful to go outside, and before that slushy part freezes.

snow

Jan. 10th, 2024 10:05 pm
low_delta: (Default)
It snowed yesterday, for the third time this year. Everyone was panicking about a big snowstorm, but I didn't get it because my forecast said 1 to 3 inches. Finally, I realized that this was for areas near the lake, and five miles inland or more was supposed to get 5 to 8 inches. This was important because we had to decide whether to cancel the CoPA meeting. We did, mainly because if half of our group comes from where the snow is, we'd only have half as many people as usual, which is not fair to our speaker.

It turned out the snowfall forecast was correct for both areas. The only difference was about three degrees, which put us closer to freezing, and we didn't get the high winds they told us about.

Today, i had to shovel the driveway, but didn't get to it until after it had been driven over a few times. Then I did half of it. I didn't have a chance to do the other half until after the temps dropped, so now there are frozen ruts of ice all over it.

We're supposed to get another one on Friday. Forecast says ten inches, with wind. That's a lot! Then the temps will drop. Daily highs for Sun, Mon and Tue are predicted to be 5, 2 and 4°F.

So... we'll see what happens. Should be fun.
low_delta: (Default)
Yesterday it snowed all morning, but it was warm, so while the grass was mostly white, it was melting at the same rate it was falling. After it quit, the wind kicked up. Later in the afternoon it started up again, but it was colder this time, so it stuck. It was really bad around 5:00. The roads were really slick, and traffic was backed up due to it being afternoon drive time. Of course I had to go out then. It took me forever.

It quit around the time I got home. I checked the depth in the grass, and though it was hard to tell, but I think we got over two inches. Tomorrow it will be above freezing for most of the day, so it should all melt.

There was a meme going around last week about how there's always snow on Halloween, and never any on Christmas. I forget if that was about the Midwest in general, or Wisconsin.

Today it melted off of most of the pavement, but it's still covering the grass, except on the sunny side of the house.

the heat

Aug. 23rd, 2023 10:06 pm
low_delta: (burn)
It was really hot today. The weather stations near me were all reporting 97 and 98 degrees, even the ones by the lake. Yesterday's high was 86, and that was the previous high temp for the month. July's high was 87, and June's high was 86. This was the first time we hit 90. But I'm sure everyone is going to be complaining about how hot this summer was, just because of this one extreme day.

On the other hand, it has been a lot warmer inland, all summer. So I think most people in the area have the right to say it's been a hot summer. But I'm damn well gonna correct the locals if they say it!

As hot as it was outside, the air conditioning was running all day, and I was cold. Of course. It was only three degrees above what we keep it at in the winter, which is when I wear three layers around the house. Right now I'm wearing a long-sleeved shirt. I should open the windows to keep the a/c from running, because it's about 70 out there. Around 7pm the wind switched, and the temp dropped 15 degrees in fifteen minutes.

smoke

Jun. 29th, 2023 07:54 pm
low_delta: (Default)
The big news around here has been the smoke from the Canadian wildfires. We'd occasionally had hazy skies earlier in the year, but the last couple of days have been really bad. The index was up to 250. They were saying Milwaukee was the worst in the nation at that time. And some were saying we were down to one-mile visibility. Not sure either of those statements were true, but they were close. The weather forecasts and reports said "smoke".

I was home on Tuesday and I could see the haze across the back yard, like fog was starting to move in. The sky was cloudless, but there were barely shadows. The last couple of days at the office, I could see clouds and blue(ish) sky above, but the smoke seemed to be hanging low, because I was having trouble seeing buildings in the distance.
low_delta: (crocus)
It was warmer outside than inside for the first time this year. The temp got up to 75°, so we opened all the windows. Yesterday it was 54° by the lake, and 74° two miles inland, but today the wind was in the west, so it was warm everywhere. It will be in the upper 70's (daytime) for the rest of the week. Next week will be back in the 40's.

snow

Feb. 23rd, 2023 11:16 pm
low_delta: (Default)
We had a blizzard yesterday. Not sure how much snow we got - 6in? More? It was very windy, and the sound of the snow and sleet rattling on the window was driving me crazy. Cindy shoveled some of the driveway this morning, and I did the rest. It took me four tries to get it all done. It was a heavy snow. Early in the day it was warm and starting to melt, which made it very heavy. By 8pm it had gotten colder, and the top layer was ice. That made it annoying.

It has snowed every week for a few weeks now, and the snow never lasts more than a couple of days. Tomorrow will remain below freezing, but every day after that will get above it. Maybe it was last longer than usual, with that layer of ice on top.
low_delta: (Default)
The forecast had been for seven inches of snow. Two or three days before it was supposed to arrive, they downgraded it to about three inches. I think we might have gotten an inch and a half. It's hard to tell because the wind blew most of it away. I was hoping for more, since the temperature dropped after the snow fell. It's always nice to have that insulation on the ground when it's this cold.

It was down to -10°F overnight. It's not supposed to get above zero until the late afternoon. The winds have been between 20 and 30 mph. Tomorrow, it will be in the single digits all day, with winds up to 30 mph. Not fun.

This is January weather. We seldom see it this cold in December. Of course the forecast for next Thursday through Sunday is 40's and raining.

Cindy put the trash bin out this morning, and the wind blew it over almost immediately. After noon, the truck came by and the driver actually got out of his cab to set the bin upright so the truck could grab it. Shortly afterward, the bin was blow over again, and sliding across the snowy lawn. I went out to retrieve it, and the cold was painful!

warm

May. 2nd, 2021 10:49 pm
low_delta: (Default)
It was kinda hot yesterday. That was so great! Well, I hate to see the temps too far out of normal, because, you know, global warming, but it was enjoyable. It got above 85°F, which was not exactly a record, even for the first of May. The forecast called for 72°. We had the windows open, but I don't think it got up to summer a/c temperature in the house. I worked in the yard all day. I did all the Spring cleaning and pulled a lot of weeds. Mowed the lawn in the evening.

Today wasn't originally supposed to be as warm as yesterday, but it turned out to be. I didn't really get a chance to enjoy it, though, because we drove up to Appleton to drop work off for a show at the art museum. We saw the exhibit that was on view, and came home. Gaming for me in the evening.

The coming week is supposed to have daytime highs around 50° every day.

warm

Feb. 27th, 2021 06:19 pm
low_delta: (Default)
It got up to 50°F today. Remember that picture of the snow at the back of our house, that I posted eleven days ago? The drift was over three feet high. That snow is now gone. There aren't many bare spots in the yard, but the snow has retreated six or eight feet from sunny south side of the house.

They're saying March will be warmer than average.

Profile

low_delta: (Default)
low_delta

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910111213 14
15 161718192021
22232425 262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 06:47 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios