low_delta: (serious)
This water thing is a pain in the ass. I ran the hose for two hours last night, and it was still coming out of the faucets black this morning. We ran the laundry room faucet for twenty minutes or more, and it's still bad. We ran the bathtub for half an hour and got it to the point we could take showers, but it's still just a little bit dark. I'm going to put a hose on the laundry room faucet (we were doing buckets) and run it outside for a while.

I guess we're going to try changing out the pipes between the pressure tank and the softener. I think this is going to be a pain. There are a couple of tricky joints, the pipe is all really big (some of it is 1") and if something goes wrong, we don't have any water at all.

Date: 2006-01-15 04:09 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] roadskoller.livejournal.com
You two are always welcome to use our shower or wash your clothes over here. Just say so.

Date: 2006-01-15 04:47 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
Thanks!

Date: 2006-01-16 02:37 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] sirreal13.livejournal.com
I empathize with your water travails. I've been lucky so far, but we're on well water also, and there is little standing between plentiful good water and something less desirable.

I've heard that manganese is hard to stop. I don't know if it's cathodic action on the pipe or what. Is the well guy sure that there aren't any leaks? Is there any kind of water test you can have done to see if it's manganese or other suspended particulate? Anyway, good luck.

Date: 2006-01-17 12:39 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
He put only non-corrisive parts in the well - plastic and brass - so there should be no more leaks down there.

Profile

low_delta: (Default)
low_delta

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910111213 14
15 161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:49 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios