low_delta: (burn)
Officers Deserted a Jail Building, Leaving Inmates Locked in Cells

(New York, September 22, 2005)—As Hurricane Katrina began pounding New Orleans, the sheriff's department abandoned hundreds of inmates imprisoned in the city’s jail, Human Rights Watch said today.

Inmates in Templeman III, one of several buildings in the Orleans Parish Prison compound, reported that as of Monday, August 29, there were no correctional officers in the building, which held more than 600 inmates. These inmates, including some who were locked in ground-floor cells, were not evacuated until Thursday, September 1, four days after flood waters in the jail had reached chest-level.

the article at Human Rights Watch dot org

Date: 2005-09-24 03:56 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] roadskoller.livejournal.com
Holy crap!!!!!
That's insane.

Date: 2005-09-24 08:57 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] seriouspaul.livejournal.com
Yeah they should have just diverted some of their already stretched to the limits resources to help these convicted felons instead of their every day citizens.

You totally nailed that one. Insane.

Date: 2005-09-24 09:17 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
Leave them to die, just because they might be criminals?

In case you missed it in the article: "Many of the men held at jail had been arrested for offenses like criminal trespass, public drunkenness or disorderly conduct. Many had not even been brought before a judge and charged, much less been convicted."

I'm not disputing that it's a tough situation, and different people have different opinions on how much help should be afforded a person who has fucked up, but there was no effort made to do anything for them. People dying because they could get out of town is sad. People dying because they weren't allowed to leave is criminal. Did the sherriff make the wrong decision that day? I have a hard time saying he did. But shouldn't some other choices have beed made earlier in the game?

Date: 2005-09-24 03:56 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] likethebeer.livejournal.com
I think I saw the footage of the prisoners from Templeman I or II being rescued. They were up in the exercise yard and the cops had to swim there, with handcuffs, to get them out.

Profile

low_delta: (Default)
low_delta

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910111213 14
15 161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios