i'm really getting pissed off at some people's attitude towards the Boy Scouts. Not about the homosexual thing - that's understandable - but about their attitude of see? They are all perverts!
I just read a comment by some guy who predicted this on the basis that an organization would not be so paranoid about child molesters if they weren't child molesters themselves. WHAT THE FUCK IS THAT? You get years of jokes about guys going out into the woods with boys, and also the threat of lawsuits over any possible impropriety, of course that's what you get. Paranoia. But it's not a bad thing. Not only is it leader protection, it's youth protection. Sure, you can say that it's in self-interest - not only for protection from lawsuits, but to assure parents that their kids are safe, thereby keeping membership up. So what?
I know from my time with the Boy Scouts that they move swiftly on allegations of abuse. They may not always take the action most favorable to the victim, but this is no Catholic Church which sides with the accused, against lawsuits.
Am I taking this personally? Probably. I'm getting pissed off at the statements that people are making that have no basis in logic, but not only that, a lot of the statements some people are making are rather broad generalizations about scouting and scouters in general - and I consider myself to be one.
Besides that, lately, I've not been in a mood to take any shit.
I just read a comment by some guy who predicted this on the basis that an organization would not be so paranoid about child molesters if they weren't child molesters themselves. WHAT THE FUCK IS THAT? You get years of jokes about guys going out into the woods with boys, and also the threat of lawsuits over any possible impropriety, of course that's what you get. Paranoia. But it's not a bad thing. Not only is it leader protection, it's youth protection. Sure, you can say that it's in self-interest - not only for protection from lawsuits, but to assure parents that their kids are safe, thereby keeping membership up. So what?
I know from my time with the Boy Scouts that they move swiftly on allegations of abuse. They may not always take the action most favorable to the victim, but this is no Catholic Church which sides with the accused, against lawsuits.
Am I taking this personally? Probably. I'm getting pissed off at the statements that people are making that have no basis in logic, but not only that, a lot of the statements some people are making are rather broad generalizations about scouting and scouters in general - and I consider myself to be one.
Besides that, lately, I've not been in a mood to take any shit.
no subject
Date: 2005-03-31 06:45 am (UTC)From:i was never in the boy scouts but had i not played sports all the time i probably would have been down with it... most of my friends who were in boyscouts weren't atheletes but i don't think the two are related... that's just how it was... some kids did sports some kids did 4h...etc... i grew up in a pretty rural area but also really liberal and crunchy so i don't think boy scouts was as big as it was other places... no clubs and shit like that that would be considered conformist by our parents were really popular... growing up in the 70's in new england i guess... just a sign of the times.
no subject
Date: 2005-04-01 06:04 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2005-03-31 10:57 am (UTC)From:HE KNEW? KNEW????? right.
I do agree with the spark of his comment, but not the application. You can tell a lot about a PERSON by the paranoia they express, someone who is constantly looking out for cops does so for a reason .. etc... but I just don't see how LARGE ORGANIZATIONS can be held to the same clue tags. Perhaps one that has ONE leader, who makes the rules/choices and has a very tight hands on control etc.. Most organizations are made up of multiple people with different ideals, goals, issues.. The boy scouts is too wide spread, has too many separate hives so to speak satellites to have one cohesive communal thinking acting brain. Even with the same set of rules in place to follow.. the application will be different with each person.
*shrug*
I don't my brain is awake enough to make this comment clear. Eh.. what can you do?
no subject
Date: 2005-04-01 06:05 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2005-03-31 02:42 pm (UTC)From:Personally, I hope this is as isolate as it should be. Sexual abuse is nothing to laugh at.
no subject
Date: 2005-04-01 06:09 am (UTC)From:I've seen a lot of people say things that sound like, "see? They don't let gays in, but they do let pedophiles in!" Which doesn't make any sense whatsoever. I think what's happening is that people are angry about both issues, and can't resolve their feelings into coherent thoughts.
no subject
Date: 2005-04-01 07:01 am (UTC)From:But there are people who are only too willing to assume all adult homosexuals are abusers because a guy once raped a little boy. That's the worst, and the stupidest, double standard in the world. It's unfair to homosexuals and it's unfair to little girls.
And really, we're talking about individuals, individuals with scary tendencies and poor impulse control, who probably have a history of their own abuse and are usually straight as they can be and "fine upstanding citizens". Until we start seeing people for who and what they are and stop projecting our fears onto then, things like this will continue to happen, because we are assuming too much about the wrong people and taking the "right" ones for granted.
no subject
Date: 2005-03-31 03:20 pm (UTC)From:However, my parents pulled me out of that troop and put me in another one with a great Scoutmaster who was very generous with his time and a bunch of kids who were great to me. It made up for a lot of the crap that had happened. Put that way, I can definitely see the positives (I still know how to tie a clove-hitch -- not that it's hard).
I apologize if my comments were insensitive, inappropriate, uninformed, or all of the above (though I'm not the one who said that shit about child molesters -- that would've set me off too).
I know it's not the whole organization. It's a few bad apples ruining a great organization. And the way the media plays it, it can easily skew public perception. I try to ignore a lot of that but it's hard because I've seen both sides firsthand.
no subject
Date: 2005-04-01 06:13 am (UTC)From:No, aside from the vagueness of your original statement, I have no problem with anything you said (even if I might have disagreed with any of it). Certainly not insensitive or inappropriate.
no subject
Date: 2005-03-31 06:38 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2005-04-01 06:15 am (UTC)From: