Once, I thought something an LJ friend had said to another could have been construed as rude. I didn't know if it really was rude, but I decided that people make mistakes, and I'd want a friend to point it out if I made a mistake, so I sent her an e-mail. I said something to the effect of, "I have no idea if what I saw was the whole story, but I thought I'd warn you just in case..."
I was unprepared for the level of anger that she replied with. Holy shit, was she mad. I can't even describe it. All I could do was offer her a half-assed apology and try to explain that I didn't assume anything and was just making sure... blahblahblah.
A week or so later (yeah, I'm that way), I worked out some things in my head, and decided to send her another message. I wrote something out, then I called up my original message, just to verify what I had said. I was horrified to find that she was right. My message did not include the words to indicate that I was pointing her *possible* error out, *just in case*. The tone of the message was definitely, "hey, that was rude." My heart just sank.
So I sent her a more hearfelt apology and explanation, and didn't hear back from her.
Sometimes I wonder how I make it through life. How often do I say or do things that are totally wrong, but nobody says anything? I'm starting to appreciate that. >:-( I mean, if I don't learn of my mistakes how can I correct them or avoid making them again? But there comes a point at which I don't want to deal with my fuck-ups, and I don't feel that learning about them would help. But if this is what it takes to get me to that point, I imagine that many other people have felt that way all along. Which would explain why they don't want to point out *my* failures.
I've always had a problem with that Golden Rule (even though I didn't realize it). What I want others to do for me, is not necessarily what they want done for them. So they end up angry at me, while I think I'm the good guy. And I can't figure out what just happened. And I can't figure out why I'm such a nice guy, yet people don't like me.
I was unprepared for the level of anger that she replied with. Holy shit, was she mad. I can't even describe it. All I could do was offer her a half-assed apology and try to explain that I didn't assume anything and was just making sure... blahblahblah.
A week or so later (yeah, I'm that way), I worked out some things in my head, and decided to send her another message. I wrote something out, then I called up my original message, just to verify what I had said. I was horrified to find that she was right. My message did not include the words to indicate that I was pointing her *possible* error out, *just in case*. The tone of the message was definitely, "hey, that was rude." My heart just sank.
So I sent her a more hearfelt apology and explanation, and didn't hear back from her.
Sometimes I wonder how I make it through life. How often do I say or do things that are totally wrong, but nobody says anything? I'm starting to appreciate that. >:-( I mean, if I don't learn of my mistakes how can I correct them or avoid making them again? But there comes a point at which I don't want to deal with my fuck-ups, and I don't feel that learning about them would help. But if this is what it takes to get me to that point, I imagine that many other people have felt that way all along. Which would explain why they don't want to point out *my* failures.
I've always had a problem with that Golden Rule (even though I didn't realize it). What I want others to do for me, is not necessarily what they want done for them. So they end up angry at me, while I think I'm the good guy. And I can't figure out what just happened. And I can't figure out why I'm such a nice guy, yet people don't like me.
..
Date: 2004-02-16 09:39 pm (UTC)From:Re: ..
Date: 2004-02-16 11:25 pm (UTC)From:But yeah, even if I had said what I meant, it probably whouldn't have been taken well.
Re:
Date: 2004-02-17 09:54 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2004-02-16 09:59 pm (UTC)From:Re:
Date: 2004-02-16 11:30 pm (UTC)From:I've come to realize that people want to think they're fine, and don't want anyone watching out for them.
no subject
Date: 2004-02-16 10:03 pm (UTC)From:Re:
Date: 2004-02-17 09:56 am (UTC)From:I have this problem with being proud of myself for some reason, and then finding out that not only am I not like that, but I'm the opposite of it. That's the worst feeling.
no subject
Date: 2004-02-17 02:02 am (UTC)From:I mean, if I don't learn of my mistakes how can I correct them or avoid making them again? You know, I have this as an issue as well, but I have had to give up on people telling me what I want them too. Only some of my best friends will ever know me well enough or be comfortable enough to do this. I DO know some people who make incorrect assumptions and try to correct me on what was never there.. which leads to a worse situation.. and that sounds like what happened to you. All we can do is go on. I hope the person in question is at least still around, but if not.. I look at it as a relationship that didn't fit, or was not meant to be at this time.
I am rambling as well.. sorry about that. Chalk it up to brain dead at five am please.
no subject
Date: 2004-02-17 05:21 am (UTC)From:I am much better in person when communicating my point....The written form seriously lacks the physical expression.
Re:
Date: 2004-02-17 09:58 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2004-02-17 06:06 am (UTC)From:Don't they? I'm surprised. You've always seemed to get on well with people.
> ...I'm such a nice guy...
See? People do like you. ;~)
Seriously, if it was me on the receiving end, I'd try to clarify what you were saying before assuming you were being rude because (unless I'm missing something) you're just not like that.
Re:
Date: 2004-02-17 10:01 am (UTC)From:Generally, yeah.
if it was me on the receiving end, I'd try to clarify what you were saying before assuming you were being rude...
That makes sense, doesn't it? I guess that's why I was so surprised by her anger. I would have expected an angry questioning, at the very worst.
opinion ahead:
Date: 2004-02-17 10:03 am (UTC)From:than i already think i know~
you're sweet and thoughtful and most of us realize this~
your message comes across wrong sometimes? well, yeah,
we all do that, but i agree with what you're finding out
about that Golden Rule- things left unsaid and for others
to deal with, to figure out,
may be the better way to go for the mostpart~
and sweetie, you don't need to hear about things people
don't appreciate about your personality-
you need to be yourself in all your rights and wrongs
and figure out for yourself what you want to change~
*love*
no subject
Date: 2004-02-17 11:00 am (UTC)From:Me? I totally prefer to communicate in writing. I'm much better at it than speaking in person. For example, if someone says something mean to me, I become flustered, turn beet red, mumble something incoherent and shuffle off. Then I think later, "Dang! I should have said 'this,' or 'that.'" I'm lousy at oral debates because they are confrontational in nature.
I have a very soft voice, and I've been told it is soothing and pleasant (some time I might do one of those audio posts like
I've always thought I could communicate better in writing, but maybe not.... Like I said, you've sure made me think!