low_delta: (Default)
Sometimes you get the question, "are you a rule-follower?" I'm not, but I'm also not a rule-breaker. I find the question a bit irrelevant.

I guess I would lean a little more toward following than not, but I'll happily break the rules if I feel the need. I'm more concerned with the purpose of the rules. The spirit of the law. Like, if there's no traffic coming, I'll cross the street against the light. What harm is there? Will I drive through a red light? Probably not, but only because the consequences are greater, as are the likelihood of getting a ticket for it.

On the other hand, sometimes I follow the rules, not because I'm worried about getting caught, or because it's a good idea, I follow the rules because other people are around. And the more that people see other people breaking the rules, the more comfortable they will feel in doing the same. And then things start breaking down. Does that make me a rule-follower?

I think about this a lot at metered onramps. There's a stop light at the entrance to the freeway. As soon as a car pulls up it turns green so the car can go, and then immediately turns back to red. This is so you don't get a big slug of cars trying to merge onto the freeway all at once. It meters them out so there is more likely to be space for them. First of all, I don't usually stop at them, if I can help it. I go slowly enough that it's turning green as I pass through. I'm not convinced that's a problem. But more importantly, if there is no one around, I barely slow down. The key is that I'm not bunching up with other cars. And even when I have followed all the rules, and I'm in traffic, I'll stay slow to leave space between me and the other cars.

I don't break many criminal laws, but that's not because of the law, it's because it is just plain wrong to do so. I mean, I don't steal from people. Is that some kind of rule besides the laws created by the state? I guess I follow those kinds of rules.

I can't say I follow the rules of etiquette very well, but that's only because I haven't always been the best at knowing them. I know you have to treat people with respect, but I don't always know the best ways to do this, in social situations. Does that make me a rulebreaker?

There is obviously a continuum along the axis of rule-following.

Profile

low_delta: (Default)
low_delta

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910111213 14
15 161718192021
22232425 2627 28
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 07:03 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios