low_delta: (photographer)
My first camera was a Vivitar 110. Cheap little box with a built-in flash. Used film cartridges with narrow film that didn't have very good resolution. I think it was a gift at my eighth grade graduation. I used it through high school.

My first real camera was a Ricoh KR-1 35mm with a 50mm lens. It is fully manual - very simple operation. Only three settings - aperture (f2 to 16), shutter speed (8 to 1000) and ISO. It had a lever you pushed for the self-timer. I usually shot Kodak 400 Gold. I still miss having a hyperfocal scale on the lens. I did a lot of night shooting, so I got a tripod. I only upgraded from that a couple of years ago.

I got it in June 1988. My next camera was a Rebel 2000, so I guess I used the Ricoh for over twelve years. I'm not sure when I got the new Canon, but it was in production from 1999 to 2002. It also used 35mm film. I stopped using it when the labs started messing with my photos too much. They applied a lot of color and lighting "enhancements," so I switched to digital to keep control of my images.

After that, I only bought Canons. The next was a digital Rebel XTi in February 2007 just before our trip to Hawaii. I used the cheap kit lens for a while, an 18-55mm, but upgraded to an 18-270 in 2009. Eventually, the XTi started to have trouble functioning well so I bought a T5i. I got it in 2013, just before my trip to Scotland. Now the lens is giving me hassles, so I need a new one of those.

We've also gone through several little Canon point & shoot digital cameras. Three, I think.

I don't count the phone, since I seldom use it for creative shots. It's mainly just for taking records, or when I don't have the big camera along.

Date: 2017-12-10 12:15 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] northernsnokat.livejournal.com
I am not a photographer like you are. I have 2 cameras & haven't used them since my smart phone a couple of years ago. I always have that with me when I want to take a picture so that is a better mode for me.

Date: 2017-12-10 01:43 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
I definitely have to make an effort to bring the big camera. Oftentimes, it won't even occur to me to use my phone. I'll just think "aw, I forgot my camera."

Date: 2017-12-11 11:45 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] northernsnokat.livejournal.com
I use to be like that until both girls would chime in Mom you have your phone's camera to use. duh! LOL

Profile

low_delta: (Default)
low_delta

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910111213 14
15 161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:56 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios