low_delta: (Default)
We had our roof redone. The guy who did it was... not entirely on the ball. He was usually good, but a few times he didn't come through. Like, he disappeared for two weeks after we told him we'd go ahead with the job. I was just about ready to call someone else, when he finally called back. I wish he'd waited one more day, and then I would have had another quote in hand.

The final product was good. The roof looks good, and he cleaned up the place reasonably well. I paid him immediately, but the next night it rained, and I discovered they didn't reattach one of the downspouts to the gutter. It washed several inches of soil off my garden underneath it. I called him the next morning, and he said he'd be over. Then it rained again in the afternoon. It wasn't fixed when I got home, so I called him again. He said he was in Mequon and he'd stop on the way back to town. He didn't. Didn't come friday or monday either. Monday night it rained again. No real damage from the soil washing away, but I had to put more topsoil down.

So tonight I fixed it myself. I plan on billing him. I've got to create an invoice-looking thing. I'll say my time is worth $25 an hour, time spent was 45 minutes, and I'll add $3.75 for topsoil.

I've also got the sign he put in our front yard, advertising his company. He didn't pick it up by this morning, so I put it in the garage. I'll give it back to him if he pays me. If he doesn't, I'll drive around and find a run-down, abandoned building, and stick it in the ground there.

Date: 2012-08-01 04:20 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] ranunculus.livejournal.com
I like the idea of sticking it in front of an abandoned building. Call him and tell him you did so, but not where!!

Date: 2012-08-01 05:08 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
But then he could take it down! ;-)

Date: 2012-08-01 04:41 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] hinterland.livejournal.com
ROFL @ "If he doesn't, I'll drive around and find a run-down, abandoned building, and stick it in the ground there." I dig your style!

Date: 2012-08-01 04:54 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] mellary4.livejournal.com
I like putting the sign by an abandoned house. It would look like he was going to fix it up but after awhile people would start thinking when is he going to start or is this his handiwork?!

Date: 2012-08-01 05:08 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
Exactly what I was thinking. I was worried about the free publicity, at first, but after a while people might wonder about the guy.

Date: 2012-08-01 08:53 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] ravenfeather.livejournal.com
*laughing*

GO YOU!!!

Profile

low_delta: (Default)
low_delta

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910111213 14
15 161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 07:16 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios