low_delta: (Default)
Got the shingles done!

Got an early start. I had a hell of a time staying on the roof. The shingles were dropping both sand and grit, making the roof slippery. When I finally figured out to brush it all off, I got over to the sunny end, and the softer shingles, which lose grit more easily, combined with the fact that the tar paper wouldn't stay up, really slowed me down. Also, the lower part of the roof was about an inch and a half past the end of the shingle, so I had to cut little strips and glue them in. That was a pain.

I had this idea about using roof jacks. They're metal brackets that you nail down just above a course of shingles. Then you nail the next course over them. They're hooked over the nails, so you can slide them out when you're all done. You lay a board across them, so you have a nice shelf to stand on, on a steep roof. Anyway... first thought: I don't need roof jacks. The roof is too small to worry about them, and it's not quite steep enough to *need* them. Second thought: I'll use one set right over the ladder, as a place to set shingles in transit to the top. When I had this thought yesterday, it was too late to use them, because I had already put too many courses down. So I tried it today. It worked out well. Third thought: I wish I had a set in that difficult area in the sun, along the edge. But I can't because I already put too many courses down. But then I checked the set I had in, and I could turn up a shingle, and put the nail in. In other words, I *can* add them after a section of roof is finished! So I could have used them yesterday, and I could (and did) use one in that difficult spot. Not only that, but they were perfect for working the entire roof, since I could almost reach the top, while standing on them. I probably could have saved myself a couple of hours. And there was more than one time that I thought I was going to slide off the roof.

I knew our neighbor had a bunch of large garbage, because he just replaced the roof on his little shed, so I told him he could use my dumpster, and he did. He also cleaned up some of my debris (in thanks, I assume). My friend Joe came by again, and cleaned up the rest of it, while I was up on the roof.

I got done with it all just as supper was ready. Afterwards, I went out and cleaned up the rest of the trash, and got my tools in, just as it started raining.

Next step is to finish painting the trim, and filling the gaps. Then I put up the gutters. I'm hoping to have that done by next weekend. I also need to fix up the soffits. And put all my tools away. And get a finish nailer. And find some more trash to put in the dumpster before they take it away.
(deleted comment)

Date: 2009-09-26 04:56 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
And even planned to the max

I did *no* planning on this one!

Yeah, I'm a-hurtin' tonight.
(deleted comment)

Date: 2009-09-26 02:58 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
wait.. you're one of them over thinkin' engineer types, you guys are usually paralyzed without well thought out blue prints in hand. So how'd you pull this off then?!?

Yes! That's one reason I didn't start sooner - because I didn't know what to do. I finally realized I couldn't come up with a plan until I pulled the shingles off until I found out what was underneath. And there were many times that I found myself standing and staring, trying to decide what to do next. I had to just tell myself to do *something*.

Date: 2009-09-26 08:10 am (UTC)From: [identity profile] pondhopper.livejournal.com
Talk about a marathon roofing session. When I saw Cyn's pictures of you perched on the roof (I know it's not that high or steep but still...) I got weak kneed. I know how easy it is to slip off a slope. My dad did and was very lucky not to kill himself.
eep!

Date: 2009-09-26 02:53 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
My friend who was helping, said he's afraid of heights because he once fell off a roof. He only went up there when it was dark and he couldn't see off the roof.

Date: 2009-09-26 09:10 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] pondhopper.livejournal.com
In other words, what you don't see can't hurt you?
:P

Date: 2009-09-27 02:16 pm (UTC)From: [identity profile] low-delta.livejournal.com
With phobias, it's more like, if you can't see it, you can't be scared of it.

Profile

low_delta: (Default)
low_delta

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
8910111213 14
15 161718192021
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 03:01 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios