I skied! For over 45 minutes. I went out in the field behind our house and did a loop three times. The loop was around the edge of the field and then across the middle. So half of the field. I wish I'd drunk some water before going out. I'm pretty dehydrated now. I wonder how many years it's been since I've been on them. Five? Used muscles in my legs that I didn't know I had. And was a little out of practice, so leaned on the poles more than I should have. I've been sitting here for ten minutes and my legs are already getting painfully stiff.
About halfway out, I noticed a lump beneath my toes on my left foot. I thought Ice was building up between my boot and the ski. Nope. It was a little distracting, but not a big problem. But it got worse. It wasn't my sock bunching up because I didn't feel any wrinkles. I didn't think it was my insole, for the same reason. It got worse, and I checked for ice buildup again, but there was nothing. Near the end of the trip, that ski got a bit wobbly on my foot, like the boot was coming off the ski. Couldn't figure that out either. When I got back in the house, I checked the boot, and the sole had come loose from the shoe. There was a lump of snow inside, between the boot and the sole. So I guess that boot is trash, and there will be no more skiing for a while - or maybe I can duct tape it together.
I've been wanting new skis for many years now. I guess now's the time. I could wait for a month or so, until they all go on clearance, but we'll be in Hawaii at the time, and I won't be able to afford them. so maybe next year. But I still won't be able to afford them until clearance time, after the snow is gone. Skis are a difficult item for me to invest in because there is seldom enough snow to use them. This time I got lucky. It hasn't been above freezing since last weekend, when it snowed. The snow is still mostly powdery. It was a little crust in places, but not too bad overall. That's why I did the loop three times. Once to break trail, and twice to enjoy it.
About halfway out, I noticed a lump beneath my toes on my left foot. I thought Ice was building up between my boot and the ski. Nope. It was a little distracting, but not a big problem. But it got worse. It wasn't my sock bunching up because I didn't feel any wrinkles. I didn't think it was my insole, for the same reason. It got worse, and I checked for ice buildup again, but there was nothing. Near the end of the trip, that ski got a bit wobbly on my foot, like the boot was coming off the ski. Couldn't figure that out either. When I got back in the house, I checked the boot, and the sole had come loose from the shoe. There was a lump of snow inside, between the boot and the sole. So I guess that boot is trash, and there will be no more skiing for a while - or maybe I can duct tape it together.
I've been wanting new skis for many years now. I guess now's the time. I could wait for a month or so, until they all go on clearance, but we'll be in Hawaii at the time, and I won't be able to afford them. so maybe next year. But I still won't be able to afford them until clearance time, after the snow is gone. Skis are a difficult item for me to invest in because there is seldom enough snow to use them. This time I got lucky. It hasn't been above freezing since last weekend, when it snowed. The snow is still mostly powdery. It was a little crust in places, but not too bad overall. That's why I did the loop three times. Once to break trail, and twice to enjoy it.
no subject
Date: 2007-01-21 09:31 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2007-01-21 04:24 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2007-01-21 05:22 pm (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2007-01-22 06:08 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2007-01-22 05:18 pm (UTC)From:And what kind of binding do they fit?
Occasionally, something good pops up in the $10 and less bin.
Admittedly, a new pair of skis with new boots and poles is nice, but it's always nice to have an old pair to be "rock skis".
This place would spoil ya. It's a ski friendly town. And a (voluntary) season pass only costs $75 for the groomed trails.
no subject
Date: 2007-01-23 04:51 am (UTC)From:I wonder if I can glue it back down. I wonder if I could find something for cheap at a second-hand sproting goods store.
Rock skis. Heh. I never treated mine with an excess of care. Quite a few gouges in them.
no subject
Date: 2007-01-23 05:07 pm (UTC)From:maybe some shoe-goo would work until you can find replacement boots?
3-pins seem to be going out of style for standard touring, although, I do have two pairs of them......one for light touring, and the other for mountain touring
no subject
Date: 2007-01-24 05:18 am (UTC)From:no subject
Date: 2007-01-24 04:18 pm (UTC)From:last year, i picked up a new pair of backcountry touring/tele boots with the 75mm 3-pin sole on them for under $50.....list price was on the order of $189 for the BC X9's......3-pins are still prized by some backcountry skiers